Browse Categories

Anoush Opera

<< Previous in Music & Movies Next in Music & Movies >>

Price: $20.00
Item Number: 7189
The first completed and truly "National" Armenian opera, Anoush embodies the ethos and melos of the typical 19th century Armenian village life. Opera is in 5 acts and libretto is by composer, based on H. Toumanian's famous poem of the same name. Through the text and music, the composer successfully recreates the life style, character, and standards of the Armenian villagers weaving into this background the tragic love story of Anoush and Saro.